Epsilon Sigma Phi Awards & Descriptions

Service Recognition Categories

This category includes the applications for the following awards:

  • Distinguished Service
  • Mid-Career Service
  • Early Career Service
  • Continued Excellence Service
  •  International Service

Leadership Recognition

The Leadership Category of Recognition provides two different recognition awards:

  • Administrative Leadership
  • Visionary Leadership

National / Regional Recognition

This category contains the instructions and information for the submission of members and friends for consideration for the following recognition awards:

  • National Distinguished Ruby
  • Friends of Extension
  • Chapter Members to be considered on the Regional Level
  • Extension Director’s Letter of Support for National Friend of Extension

The remaining recognition awards are grouped together into this category:

  • Diversity / Multicultural – Individual Recognition
  • Diversity / Multicultural – Team Recognition
  • Distinguished Team Recognition
  • Chapter Friend of Extension
  • Extension Director’s Letter of Support for Friend of Extension


Distinguished Service Ruby – Recipient delivers the annual Ruby Lecture at the National ESP Conference. The nominee must be an ESP member.

Friend of Extension – Recognizes volunteers who build support for Extension. Nominees are individuals, teams or organizations who have given outstanding service and support to Extension. National Friends receive recognition during the National ESP Conference.

Administrative Leadership – Noteworthy administrative performance during 10+ years of county, regional, state, program, department or national level leadership.

Distinguished Service – Outstanding program leadership for more than 20 years.

Diversity/Multicultural – Presented to one team and one individual in each Epsilon Sigma Phi chapter and each region to members whose innovative programming reinforces the organization’s commitment to reaching diverse audiences. At least 50% of team members eligible for ESP must be current members.
The program must have been implemented in the past three years.

Early Career Service – Demonstrated noteworthy enthusiasm, performance and accomplishment during their early Extension careers (less than 10 years).

Mid-Career Distinguished Service – Demonstrated outstanding performance during 10- 20 years of service.

Distinguished Team – Significant contribution to state Extension program planning and delivery. At least 50% of team members eligible for ESP must be current members.

Distinguished International Service – Significant contribution to international programs.

Continued Excellence – Experienced Extension professional with 20+ years who has exhibited continued leadership, initiative and excellence in the Extension program or administration, on a chapter/regional/national level. Members are eligible for nomination five years after receiving the chapter DSA Recognition.

Visionary Leadership – Extension professional whose visionary leadership has enabled Extension to anticipate emerging needs and develop support to implement relevant programs.

Meritorious Support Services – Support staff who have demonstrated significant support for Extension programs. ESP membership is not required.

Retiree Service – Extension retiree who continues to contribute to the mission and programs of Extension. ESP membership is required.

25 Year Tenure of Service Recognition – ESP members with 25 years of employment in the Extension System.

Retirement Recognition – ESP members at the time of retirement from the Extension System.

Excellence in Teamwork Award – Successful Extension team programs or projects that demonstrate effective performance and significant result impacts.

Downloadable PDF of the 2018 Epsilon Sigma Phi Awards & Descriptions.